Banner Text

Center for student Diversity

Mission and History


The Center for Student Diversity provides advocacy and support for under-represented and marginalized populations and creates welcoming, inclusive campus environments.


The Center for Student Diversity (CSD) was established in 1969. It was first named the Office of Minority Affairs (OMA). President Jim Fisher appointed Dr. Julius Chapman as the first Dean of Minority Affairs. Organizationally, OMA reported to the Provost of Academic Affairs. From its inception, OMA was established to help facilitate the access and integration of Black students into the university and to advocate on their behalf. In the early 1980s, the office was moved to the Division of Student Services under Vice President, Dorothy Siegel.

The office has been through several name changes in its more than 35 years of existence. Today, it is so named because the institution recognizes that diversity is an important resource, thus programs and services are provided for an expanded category of students, faculty, and staff of the university community.

Past Names
Office of Minority Affairs
Office of Multicultural Student Life
Office of Diversity Resources
Center for Student Diversity (current name)

Past OMA/ODR Leadership
Dr. Julius Chapman - Dean
Mr. Thomas Knox - Dean
Dr. Lillian Anthony - Assistant Vice President
Dr. Helen Giles-Gee - Assistant Vice President
Dr. Camille Clay - Assistant Vice President
Dr. Art King - Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs for Diversity

Mr. L. Victor Collins - Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs for Diversity

Dr. Santiago Solis - Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs for Diversity (present)

In the early 1970s, Dean Chapman established the African American Cultural Center (AACC) and hired James Whitaker to direct the center and support the needs of students. During that time, the Center was located in the basement of Van Bokkelen Hall. It was a brightly colored haven for African American students, faculty, and staff. Serving as the programming arm of the Office of Minority Affairs, the AACC provided speakers, concerts, projects, and academic programs and services for students. In addition, the Gospel Choir was formed in 1971. Around that same time, the Black Student Union and the Black Faculty and Administrators Association were established.

African American Cultural Center (AACC)  / African American Student Development Directors
Mr. James Whitaker
Mr. Tony Torain
Ms. Mellissia Zanjani
Mr. Todd McFadden
Ms. Meredith Davis
Ms. Yvonne Hardy Phillips

Ms. Joan E. Maze

Ms. Anee Korme (present)

Asian Pacific Islander (API) and Latino Student Development Directors

Dr. Santiago Solis (present)

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender (LGBT) Student Development Director/Associate Directors

Mr. Samuel Santos

Ms. Maren Greathouse

Mr. Joel Bolling (present)

Student Success Programs

Mr. Raft Woodus (present)

Women's Center Directors/ Women's Resources Associate Directors
Ms. Leah Schofield
Dr. Phyllis Freeman                                                                                                                            

Ms. Marie Lilly

Ms. Mahnoor Ahmed (present)

In 1993, the Division of Student Services was reorganized and the office was clustered according to similarity of function or concern. The diversity cluster was comprised of OMA, AACC and the Women's Center. The transition from Minority Affairs entailed a broadening of the office's scope from the concerns of African American students to encompass the many facets of diversity presently represented on the campus: ability, age, gender, race, religion, ethnicity, social class, sexual orientation, and national origin.  In 2007, the cluster added LGBT and Asian Pacific Islander & Latino Student Development to its portfolio.


Time Line
1955 First Black students admitted to TU
1959 First African American student graduated from TU
1969 Office of Minority Affairs established
1970 Black Student Union; AACC established
1970 Black Faculty and Administrators Association established
1971 Gospel Choir, Women's Center established
1973 First Black Greek Organization - Iota Phi Theta chartered
1975 Delta Sigma Theta chartered
1976 Omega Psi Phi, Alpha Phi Alpha, Phi Beta Sigma, Sigma Gamma Rho chartered
1977 Alpha Kappa Alpha chartered
1980 Leah Schofield named Director of the Women's Center
1982 Kappa Alpha Psi chartered; OMA moved from Academic Affairs to Student Services
1983 First Distinguished Black Women's Awards Program
1986 First Black Leadership Retreat; Community Enhancement and Enrichment Partnership Award established
1987 SAGE established
1987 AACC established; Readers Theater Project (became Kuumba Players)
1991 Alpha Nu Omega Fraternity, Inc.; chartered
1991 Alpha Nu Omega sorority, Inc.; chartered
1992 Native American Student Organization (NASA) established
1993 Alpha Epsilso Phi; chartered
1993 Filipino Cultural Association (FCAT) established
1994 Diversity Team established
1995 First Multidisciplinary Conference on the Scholarship of African Americans
1996 Latin American Student Association (LASO) established; Campus Ethno-violence Survey conducted
1997 South Asian Student Association (SASA) established; Sankofa
1998 Diversity Team disbanded
1999 First Diversity Retreat established; First Black Cross Cultural Retreat
2004 LGBTQQIA Student Group Renamed Queer Student Union (QSU)
2005 Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.; chartered
2007 LGBTQQIA Summer Leadership Camp conducted
2007 First LGBT Student Development Director appointed
2007 First Director for Asian and Latino Student Development appointed
2014 First SAGE Residential Life Community established
2014 Black History Month Art Competition established







University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now