CLA


Department of Family Studies and Community Development

Faculty and Staff

Full-time Faculty

Name & Title

Interests

Contact Info

Hana Bor, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Graduate Program Director for M.A in Jewish Communal Service and Jewish Education

Leadership, methodology, culture, diversity and management of nonprofit organizations; increasing teaching and leadership impact, global outreach and community involvement; integrating partnerships among university, school and the community; research on education, the Holocaust and communal services, including leadership of nonprofit organizations

hbor@towson.edu

410-704-5026

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Room 2234

Catherine Breneman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Professional mentoring and  behavioral health workforce issues; mental health recovery and the role of families and natural supports; community re-integration and mental health policy; behavioral health program evaluation

cbreneman@towson.edu

410-704-4871

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.  

Room 2241

Karen Goldrich Eskow, Ph.D., LCPC, OTR/L
Chairperson
Graduate Program Director
Professor

Family quality of life for families with children with special needs; Family-Professional Collaboration

keskow@towson.edu
410-704-5851
College of Liberal Arts Bldg.    Suite 2210

Diane Harnek Hall, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Program evaluation; social welfare policy

dhall@towson.edu
410-704-3366
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Room 2228

Bethany Willis Hepp, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Transnational family formation and structure; the global circulation of children; collaborative planning for human services; life course and strengths-based models for family and community development; diversity in research, teaching, curriculum, and community development; quasi-experimental and qualitative research design and methodology

bwillishepp@towson.edu

410-704-3363

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.  Room 2205

Sharon Jones-Eversley, DrPH
Assistant Professor

Social epidemiology; family and human services; community development and capacity building; racial and ethnic disparities

sjoneseversley@towson.edu
410-704-2470
College of Liberal Arts Bldg.  Room 2229

Karen Doneker Mancini, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Disabilities across the lifespan; child and adolescent development; emerging adulthood; education and disability policy; intergenerational relationships; family systems and support

kdonekermancini@towson.edu 410-704-2293

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Room 2237

Courtney Martin, M.Ed.

Lecturer

Leadership education; life skills for at-risk youth; learning style differences; autism; nonprofit leadership

crmartin@towson.edu

410-704-3365

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Room 2342

Lisa A. Martinelli Beasley,
MPS, ATR-BC, CCLS

Clinical Assistant Professor Graduate Program Director for M.S. in Child Life, Administration, and Family Collaboration

Palliative care; death, dying and bereavement issues; pediatric hospitalization as it relates to the family unit; child life education

lmartinelli@towson.edu
410-704-3766
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Suite 2210

Darnell Morris-Compton, Ph.D., LGSW

Assistant Professor

Resilience among individuals and families; emergence into adulthood among vulnerable populations; developmental education in higher education; research methods

dmorriscompton@towson.edu

410-704-3403

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Room 2238

Linda Oravecz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Community and family violence; ethnic families; low-income mothers and family policy

loravecz@towson.edu
410-704-3669
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Room 2233

Maureen Todd, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Education about and advancement of non-traditional families; qualitative research methods; intimate partner violence; family strengths

mtodd@towson.edu

410-704-3767

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Room 2230

Cynthia Vejar, Ph.D.
Lecturer
At-risk communities; conflict resolution; gang involvement; career counseling; generational cohorts cvejar@towson.edu
410-704-4202
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Room 2344

Melissa Wesner, M.S., LCPC

Clinical Assistant Professor

Group therapy; counseling supervision; treatment of substance use disorders; motivational incentives and motivational interviewing; counseling issues involving services members and their families

mwesner@towson.edu

410-704-3404

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Room 2226

Part-time Faculty

Name & Title

Interests

Contact Info

Julia Andersen, MA, ATR-BC, LCPAT
Instructor

Art therapy; body image; clinical internships and supervision for graduate art therapy students; community arts programs; art education and Love Your Tree arts program; suicide prevention; bereavement; eating disorders

jandersen@towson.edu

Patrice Brylske, CCLS
Instructor

 

 

Nikita Cox Laws, Ed.D, LCPC

Instructor

  nlaws@towson.edu
Lorine Cummings
Instructor

 

lcummings@towson.edu
 

Sandra Fisher
Instructor

 

sfisher@towson.edu
410-887-4155
Carl Gold
Instructor

Constitutional, family, criminal, employment, and educational law

cgold@towson.edu or

www.carlgoldlaw.com
410-337-5545

Emily Margolis, MS, CCLS

Instructor

The use of play and art to heal and strengthen children; the impact of trauma on development; the impact of health care experiences and chronic health conditions on children, youth and family systems; death, dying, bereavement and palliative care emargolis@towson.edu

Christopher Shea,

MA, CRAT, CAC-AD
Instructor

Chemical dependency (addiction) treatment; cognitive-behavioral therapy; trauma; community / agency development; stress / anxiety counseling

cwshea@towson.edu
 

Evette Watson

Instructor

  ewatson@towson.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Name & Title

Interests

Contact Info

Susan Bartels, Ph.D.
School Psychology Graduate Program Director and Professor

 

sbartels@towson.edu
410-704-3070
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Room 2151

Donna Cox, Ph.D.
Health Sciences
Professor

 

dcox@towson.edu
410-704-4214
Burdick Hall 141 C

Staff

Name & Title

Interests

Contact Info

Gretchen Armington
Community Programs and Projects Administrator

 

garmington@towson.edu
410-704-3362
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Suite 2210

Karen Corthell
Administrative Assistant II

 

kcorthell@towson.edu
410-704-5851
College of Liberal Arts Bldg. Suite 2210

Brigitte Pocta

Assistant Community Programs and Projects Administrator

 

bpocta@towson.edu

410-704-3962

College of Liberal Arts Bldg.

Suite 2210

Department of Family Studies and Community Development
College of Liberal Arts Building, Suite 2210
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-5851
Fax: 410-704-3612
E-mail: fmst@towson.edu



 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now