College of Health Professions

Department of Health Science

News and Events

Faculty Kudos

Dr. Kathy Gould (Health Science) and Dr. Bill Sadera (College of Education) authored a chapter on pedagogy in online learning as part of the recently released text, Developing Online Learning Environments in Nursing Education (3rd ed.)  This is the third edition of the best-selling nurse educator's handbook on using online teaching tools and assessing instructional results to keep pace with the rapid-fire progression in digital learning across education.

O'Niel, C. , Fisher, C. & Rietschel, M. (Eds.). (2013). Developing Online Learning Environments in Nursing Education (3rd ed). New York: Springer Publishing Inc.


Annual Department of Health Science Awards Ceremony & Honor Society Inductions

Student recognition for academic achievement and excellence were shared and applauded in the presence of faculty, staff, and invited guests during the annual Health Science Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 5th, 2013.

In addition to celebrating student academic achievements, the ceremony recognized the valuable contributions of the department's student teaching and internship sites.

Attendees also had the opportunity to hear presentations from two Towson University alumni,  Iliana Kiourkas White, Program Manager at the National Assembly of School Based Health Care and Patrick Herbert, current Assistant Professor, Health Science Department at Towson.


Department Awards were presented to students who demonstrated exceptional growth, leadership, professional demeanor, and spirit of civility within their field of study. Plaques were awarded and the names of the recipients were added to the award plaque hanging in the Health Science Department.

 Graduate Award                                      Undergraduate Awards                       Neil Gallagher Awards

Francesca Weaks                                          Raven Howell                                     Kim Holsopple

                                                                           Kaitlyn Zengel                                     Emilie Hunt

                                                                           Adelia Federici                                   Melissa Szydlowski                                                                                                                                                       Junaed Siddiqui

                                                                                                                                         Christina O'Shaughnessy

                                                                                                                                         Olivia Mahlmann

2013 Eta Sigma Gamma Inductees

During the ceremony, eight Health Science majors were inducted into the Eta Sigma Gamma honor society  Eta Sigma Gamma encourages excellence in teaching, research, and service in the health science discipline  Membership includes individual certificates, official jewelry, and distinguished honor cords to be worn at graduation. Dr. Maggie Reitz, Interim Chairperson of the Department of Health Science, was also inducted.

Photo of Health Sciences Group

Jaelin Ali

Ingrid Brower

Brittany Bryan

Angelo Liberto

Isioma Monu

Stephanie Randolph

Juanita Williams

Lauren Williams



Congratulations to all faculty, staff, guest speakers and students who made this program a wonderful celebration for all!


Health Science Department Receives National Recognition

The Department of Health Science is proud to report that it has received National Recognition from the American Association for Health Education for Initial Preparation of Health Educators. The program is recognized through the semester and year of Towson University’s next NCATE accreditation decision in 2014. Kudos to the Department faculty, staff, students and alumni for achieving this mark of excellence!

Department of Health Science
Linthicum Hall, Room 101

Hours: Monday–Friday, 8:30 a.m.–5 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-2637
Fax: 410-704-4670


Neil Gallagher scholarship award winner, Junaed Siddiqui

Junaed Siddiqui is the 2013 recipient of the Neil Gallagher Scholarship

Visit the website to see a full list of scholarship award recipients as well as photos and videos from the event including Junaed's presentation.

Towson Health Science Grad Stephen Peregoy promoted to Executive Director of Brigance Brigade Foundation

Full Article



University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now