Banner Text


Department of History

Faculty and Staff

Towson University History Faculty, Fall 2011.

Towson University History Faculty, Fall 2013.

 

History Department Staff

 

Name and Title

 

Contact Information

 
 

Pamela Frock

Administrative Assistant

     

pfrock@towson.edu

410-704-2923

LA-4210-M

 

 

Full-Time Faculty, 2013-2014

Name and Title

Interests

Contact Information

 
 

Rita Costa-Gomes
Associate Professor

 

Medieval Europe, Portugal, Spain.

 

rcostagomes@towson.edu

410-704-2909

LA 4228

 
 

Andrew Diemer
Assistant Professor

 

United States in the 19th century, African-American history; history of slavery and anti-slavery.

 

adiemer@towson.edu
410-704-4899
LA 4237

 
  Benjamin Fisher
Assistant Professor
 

Early Modern Europe, Jewish history

 

bfisher@towson.edu

410-704-2910

LA 4226

 
  Alhena Gadotti
Assistant Professor
 

Ancient Near East, late 3rd - early 2nd millennium BCE; history of religion, women’s history, language and literature.

 

agadotti@towson.edu
410-704-4898
LA 4222

 
 

Elizabeth Kelly Gray
Associate Professor

Assistant Chair

 

United States in the early national and antebellum eras; history of American foreign relations.

 

egray@towson.edu
410-704-2917
LA 4210 G

 
  Kimberly Katz
Associate Professor
 

Middle East and North Africa in the 19th and 20th centuries; urban history and heritage in colonial and post-colonial Tunisia

 

kkatz@towson.edu
410-704-2906
LA 4233

 
 

Christian Koot
Associate Professor and Director of American Studies

 

U.S. in the Colonial and Early Modern Periods; History of the Atlantic World; Economic and Commercial History; History of Cartography.

 

ckoot@towson.edu
410-704-3934
LA 4220

 
  John Mancini
Lecturer
 

United States in the 19th and 20th centuries; history of music, musicians, and technology.

  jmancini@towson.edu
410-704-2922
 
  Michael Masatsugu
Associate Professor
 

Asian Americans, Asia-U.S. relations, Buddhism, ethnicity, immigration and race during the Twentieth-Century, history of Baltimore.

 

mmasatsugu@towson.edu

410-704-4647

LA 4221

 
 

La Shonda Mims
Lecturer

     

lmims@towson.edu

 

   
 
 

Oluwatoyin Babatunde Oduntan

Assistant Professor

  History of Africa  

ooduntan@towson.edu

410-704-4563

LA 4238

 
  Karen Oslund
Associate Professor
 

Scandinavia, W. Europe, and the global Arctic, 1750-present; environmental history, history of science and technology; indigenous/native studies, colonial and postcolonial studies.

  koslund@towson.edu
410-704-4525
LA 4230
 
  Steven Phillips
Professor
 

China, Taiwan, E. Asia, 1800-present; political and diplomatic history; Cold War history; history of nationalism; international relations.

 

sphillip@towson.edu
410-704-2912
LA 4229

 
  Ronn Pineo

Professor

Department Chair

 

Latin America, late 19th century to the present; history of public health; Andean history; urban history; social, economic, and demographic history.

  pineo@towson.edu
410-704-2903
LA 4210 F
 
  Akim Reinhardt
Associate Professor
 

American Indian history in the 20th century

 

areinhardt@towson.edu
410-704-3932
LA 4265

 
  Nicole Dombrowski-Risser
Professor
 

France and Europe, 1789-present, esp. 20th century; history of women and the family; gender and war; rural history.

 

ndombrowski@towson.edu
410-704-2907
LA 4218

 
 

Erik Ropers

Assistant Professor

 

Modern Japan; East Asia 1800-present; colonialism in East Asia; women in East Asia; Japanese film; cultural history

  hropers@towson.edu
Phone: 410-704-3709
LA 4241
           
 
  Robert Rook
Professor
  History of the U.S., Middle East, and Indian Ocean Basin in the 20th century; environmental history, diplomatic & military history, history education.   rrook@towson.edu
410-704-2128
LA 2213F
 
 

Kara Schlichting
Lecturer

      kschlichting@towson.edu
 
  Allaire Stallsmith
Associate Professor
 

Ancient Greece; social, cultural, economic, and political history; Greek religion.

 

astallsmith@towson.edu
410-704-2911
LA 4225

 

   
  Benjamin Zajicek
Assistant Professor
 

Soviet History; history of psychiatry; Europe in the 20th century.

 

bzajicek@towson.edu
410-704-2914
LA 4219

 
   
   
   

Part-Time Faculty, 2013-2014

 

 

Name and Title

 

Interests

 

Contact Info

 
 

Patricia Anderson

Adjunct Professor

  U.S and Maryland history, nineteenth century; social and cultural history;
Catholic history
 

panderson@towson.edu

410-704-4648

LA-4213

 
 

Terry Cooney
Professor, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts

  Twentieth century American intellectual and cultural history.  

tcooney@towson.edu

410-704-2129

LA-2213-D

 
   
   
   
   

 

Emeritus Faculty

 

Name and Title

Interests

Contact Info

 
 

Edwin Hirschman
Professor Emeritus

  History of India in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.  

ehirschmann@towson.edu

410-704-2923

LA-4223

 
 

Karl Larew
Professor Emeritus

  US diplomatic and political history.  

klarew@towson.edu

410-704-4648

LA-4223

 
 

Mark Whitman
Professor Emeritus

  US constitutional history.  

mwhitman@towson.edu

410-704-2923

LA-4213

 

 

Department of History
Liberal Arts Building, Room 4210 F (map)
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-2923
Fax: 410-704-5595
E-mail: hist@towson.edu

Follow us

FacebookTwitter

 


 

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now